call from lock up

My manager has taken a leave of absence from work, FMLA. It’s been a few weeks and I thought I would text her to see how she was doing. It’s normal for her to not answer me, most of my texts are just statements that don’t need answered or just an emoji. This was about 3:00pm Friday afternoon. At 5:30pm her ringtone I have set just for her on my phone goes off. When I answered it was silent. A strange silence like the phone was being covered but I heard a faint undecipherable whisper. I hung up and called her right back but I got the recording saying “the number you have dialed is either turned off or out of the service area”.

Just a few minutes ago her husband called me. He told me she had been in surgery and is in ICU this morning for blood clots in her lungs. He was able to get her belongings out the hospital lock up where they had been stored since Thursday evening and saw I had called her number. We talked for a few minutes to get caught up. But who called my number?

3 responses to “call from lock up

  1. She called me yesterday from her work phone to my work phone. We’ve never used those to talk. She said she’s had other complications and bleeding stuff and this was her first time talking to her friends. What I thought was funny, her husband said her personal phone was dead so he brought her work phone because he couldn’t find the charger for her’s. They both use the same charger 🙂

    (another reason to not like wordpress: I have to keep approving comments when the settings say they’re ok to comment the last two years)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

