another doll (?)

The place I live in was having electrical work done on the exterior and was suppose to be off most of Saturday. Not having any internet, I packed up my laptop and went into work. The parking lot was full for a Saturday and I remembered it was Easter. Not looking at the calendar before leaving Friday, I was greeted by a bunch of screaming kids  in the community room waiting to have an Easter egg hunt. The last thing I wanted was to spend my time listening to LOUD. Inside the lockbox was a set of keys to a vacant office on the third floor, and it has an internet connection. I took the keys and headed up. I tried not to make eye contact with anyone or a smalltalk conversation would quickly ensue and last longer than it should which would keep me visible for too long letting everyone know I was in the building thus ruining any chance that I might have a peaceful afternoon. As the elevator door opened I hear “MIKE!” yelled from the common area. Pushing the “close door” button inside the elevator I managed to escape and make my way to the third floor.

The office was cold. It was apparent no one had been in there for a long time. Opening the blinds and turning the heat on, I connect my laptop to the ethernet cable and settled in. Through the door there were voices. Voices I wanted to avoid. Then there was another voice, the same one from the common area on the first floor, “anyone see Mike come up here?”. They mumbled back and forth and then silence, I was safe. I noticed the desk calendar said September 2015, it’s been empty for 6 months. The room warms up slowly but I get the uneasy feeling that something isn’t right. Then I see it, back in the corner. Another doll obviously made by the same hands as the other one in the kitchen. It’s placed on something to make it stand in an eerie lifeless stance. For how crudely made it appeared there were a lot of details in this one also. Rarely does something make me feel uneasy as these dolls. After taking a photo, I stood a notebook binder up in front of it to block the view. I didn’t want to see it and I didn’t want it watching me. Now I have to find out who is making these, I want one. Or do I?

Doll_2

12 responses to “another doll (?)

    • (copy and pasted from the link because I was in such a hurry to answer I didn’t see the comment here yet)

      The building is a senior community and the majority are African-American. I’ve learned a lot from them and honored they accept me as their friend. I asked about the one in the kitchen and no one knew anything about it, who made it or why it was placed there. Now that there’s 2 of them I have to know where they’re coming from.

      It is very interesting

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

