Shadow Birds

Walking through the park today, a dog pulling it’s owner came up to me. We’ve said hello before in passing. We stopped and talked a few moments about the holidays. It’s not a subject I care to talk about but the dog seemed content with me giving her attention. As we talked, something I’ve seen countless times flash in front of me, a shadow bird. The dog reacted to it but the gentleman seemed unphased like nothing happened. As if he didn’t see anything. The dog’s eyes moved as she watched it disappeared. She opened her mouth for a breath and nudged my hand for more attention.

I’ve never read anything about shadow birds. There’s a lot of literature on shadow people. It’s common knowledge. But the birds, I’ve seen this flash inside the house as well as outside. I’ve heard birds as much as I’ve heard the spirit chatter. The few times it’s happened directly in front of me, it was definitely an opaque black bird. I’ve had experiences with birds. Sparrows come around me a lot. Like I’m a curiosity to them. They’ve walked up to me and what seemed like I was being studied. They’ve landed on my deck handrail and watched as I stared back at them. Here at my new place, the back patio attracts them around the privacy fence where they watch me through the window.

I’ve only owned one bird. A white parakeet. It would sit on the outside of it’s cage and go back in to eat. Rarely did it leave it’s perch on the top of the cage. If I got up it made all kinds of noises and flapped around. On a Saturday afternoon it was sunny and warm. The front door was open letting in the midwinter sun. The parakeet flew directly into the glass storm door and landed lifeless on the rug. Coldheartedly I picked it up, wrapped it in paper towels and threw it away. Around this time, mid 1980’s, the flashes started. It took a few years until I realized the connection.

A lady I dated had a parrot. He was housed in a huge cage. When I would come over to her place the parrot would puff up the feathers on his head and raise his wings. This was followed by loud screaming that wouldn’t stop until I left. She said he only does that when I come around. I tried to feed him to show I’m friendly but if I got up to the cage he jumped to the bottom and hid in the back.

Some of the other experiences I’ve had with birds are the owl and falcon. The woods behind me have a deer trail I decided to follow. Once back a ways I found a clearing and sat on a log to get the burr’s off me. The overwhelming feeling of being watched created a mild form of paranoia to set in.  Looking around as I cleaned up there wasn’t anything or anyone. That’s until I stood up and looked directly into the eyes of a well camouflaged owl sitting in the tree in front of me. The huge yellow eyes glared straight back into my eyes. I looked down to walk back out and as I made my way into the woods the owl seemed to relax in a non-offensive stance. I turned to look and he returned my glance before fading back into his tree.

The falcon came out of nowhere.  The trees where I use to live had grown over the sidewalks. The shaded walks made it a nice place in summer sun. Rarely did I ever see my neighbors which made a morning walk very quiet and peaceful. On occasion I would see the falcon perched on the peak of the roof, he would fly off effortlessly. One morning on my walk I saw a bird in the distance, the sun reflecting off it as it got closer I could tell it was the golden color of the falcon.  Flying lower than I’ve ever seen him, he flew under the cover of the shade trees following the sidewalk. Once under the trees his wings didn’t move once. He glided directly over me in a deafening silence. Not once did he look at me as he passed over my head. He reached the end of the shade trees and like smoke he faded upwards out of sight.

Leave a Reply

