My Phone – The Farmhouse

The company I worked for bought up a lot of property to develop. They purchased it in the late 80’s and rented out the few remaining homes that were left on it. The section we went to is ready to start bulldozing and an old farmhouse sat back behind some woods that’s slated to be torn down. We skipped out of work and went to see if there was anything valuable we could salvage. It’s been empty so long we passed the driveway twice because it was so overgrown. The driveway looked like an access trail to the fields. Using the company vehicle, we drove through the brush and came up on the house. There was definitely something about this place that had my attention. There was life to it after being abandoned so long. I get my phone out to get some pictures. It’s dead! My phone is never dead, it’s never died since I’ve had it. With normal use I can go a day and a half, now I can’t even get the screen to come on. I plugged it into the car charger and it came on until the ignition was turned off.

There wasn’t anything to salvage like light fixtures or knobs or neat old things left behind that were meaningless at the time. I was too annoyed to about my phone not working, I couldn’t calm down enough to soak up the surroundings. We didn’t stay long. When we came out of the house the Sheriff was coming up the driveway. We walked over to his car as he got out. We showed him our I.D.’s and let him know we worked for the company that owned the property. What stuck out about him was it seemed like he was having trouble with his radio. Watercolor_#9rs2He wrote down our names and license plate number but just closed it back up and put it in his shirt pocket. He told us no one has ever been back there at that house in the 30 years he’s worked for the county. He’s never been back there and followed the fresh path coming in. We told him we were leaving and he made us pull out before him. Just down the road my phone vibrates. I dig it out of my pocket and its working. I type in my pass code and the home screen comes on. My battery shows it’s ¾’s charged…

8 responses to “My Phone – The Farmhouse

Leave a Reply

