Dream In Hindsight

Last night I had this crazy vivid dream. I was under a dog fight. At the bottom of the pile of a group of dogs tearing at each other. It was the sound that stayed with me. The faces and features of the dogs weren’t there but it was their paws. Fighting opened paws with knife-like claws hitting around me. I don’t know if I stopped breathing but I woke up needing air. Sitting on the side of my bed the only thing I said was “Damn”. I checked my phone messages and sat there a few minutes until I had to go back to sleep.

Pulling into the parking lot at work, I’m thinking of this dream. Mostly the sounds of it. The sound of wild dogs fighting to the death and the metallic clang’s of their claws. As I walk in, there’s a piece of blue plastic on the floor in the foyer. Like everyone before me I walked past it, too. I saw several more on my way back to my office. I get off the elevator and there’s more of these strange pieces of blue plastic. The hall lighting isn’t real bright and the carpet is dark blue. To me these things looked like plastic wall anchors. These are all elderly residents and I just thought they dropped them and couldn’t pick them up. I grabbed an envelope to put them in. The first two were grouped. It was the third one up against the wall I couldn’t pick up because of the rubber gloves. I gave it a flip to get it away from the wall. I reached over to grab it and felt a searing sting go deep into my thumb. I pulled back and the plastic piece was hanging off my thumb. Pulling it off I found it had a ¼ needle at the tip if the plastic.

We gathered up the Workmans Comp papers and I was off to the Urgent Care. By the time I got there my thumb had a red bump on it. They took my blood work, and told me the pieces I picked up are for diabetics to get blood samples. We’re not sure who dropped them. Now I have to wait for the first blood test results. I’m be checked for HIV and Hepatitis the next 10 months. This is real freakin’ great. I dodged the Claws in my dream but I was hit in real life by a dirty needle.

9 responses to “Dream In Hindsight

  1. This is a real bitch of thing to happen Mike. It is very ironic regarding the dream, I really hate that you will need to go through the testing. Thinking of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike, it appears that your dream was a premonition of what happened at work…the sharp claws – sharp needles, multiple dogs – multiple bags. Normally I wouldn’t wish negative on you, however I do hope your tests come back negative.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, I wish you lots of negative… I am always amazed at the magnitude this world affords to the littlest of things. We live in an idea of a world that conforms to certain stabilities and patterns, and then you’re just doing your job, and WHAM… Regardless of the outcome, it has opened up a question and one or two feelings for youI am sure, and this is also I think part of Life’s subtle maneuvering… to bring us into deeper encounters with ourselves… May you have the fullness of the encounter, and zero fall-out…

    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

