Cat In The Window

A few months ago I came across an old friend from the town I grew up in. He wanted to talk and I just wanted to get the hell out of there. I gave him my number and address and invited him over for a beer sometime. He called me a few hours ago and said he stopped by Friday evening. I wasn’t home Friday and told him he should have called first. Mark said he drank a beer on my porch and waited a while, I didn’t show up so he left. Now I know how the Bud Light can got there. He mentioned playing with the cats. I told him the little yellow stray showed up when I moved there and never left. He replied, “He keeps your cat company”.

(In junior high school, Mark brought up that I shouldn’t talk about the subject of this blog. It creeped people out and they were talking behind my back. I saw them joking but I didn’t know they made fun of me at that time.)

“I don’t have a cat”, was my answer. Mark said there was a black and white cat in my window. He tapped the screen and the cat stood up, rubbed the window and jumped back inside. He mentioned the cat didn’t have a tail. I told him about Stinky, my old cat. That’s the exact description of him only he was put to sleep 5 years ago. I told Mark to log into my blog. There was a long pause. He said, “I want to read this, I’ll call you back.

CatInTheWindow

Mark called back. He asked me if I ever noticed when we were kids how he would always wait outside for me. And how he kept telling me to stop talking about spooky things. He wanted me to stop because he stood up for me when everyone was laughing, he saw the shadows upstairs. He wanted me to stop talking about it because they made fun of him for it also. Validation is awesome…

9 responses to “Cat In The Window

Leave a Reply

