Toad #2

I was doing yard work a few days ago. It was around 85° outside. In Ohio we go from 38° to 85° in 24 hours. It was humid for May. I hate it already. Sweaty and exhausted from trimming the hedges and cleaning up debri, the patio looked like a good place to take a break. The shaded furniture and a few bottled waters were my company for the next 20 minutes. The slight breeze helped dry me off as I moved around the chair to expose areas to the wind.

Sliding down in the chair I crossed my legs and closed my eyes. The feeling of someone standing beside me made me open my eyes to look. No one’s there. A few minutes later I swear someone is near me so I sit up and look around. Again, there’s no one around. I felt my body getting stiff just from the short time sitting. Getting up I stretched my back to one side thinking it’ll cure everything. I reached to pull the chair back into the neat magazine-like set up it was displayed as. There in my chair sat a toad. I didn’t see it when I sat down. It doesn’t blend in with chair color. I poked it to see if it was alive. He just blinked and pushed back. I don’t believe It didn’t get smashed while I was thrashing around trying to air myself out. I snapped the picture, I think he smiled for the camera, then put the chair back in. Maybe we’ll meet up again some day.

Toad_rs

5 responses to “Toad #2

  1. About a year ago at work, I had gone outside to set up a trailer to unload. As I approached the door to go back inside I noticed something on the hot metal siding. It was dark and the building was poorly lit. As I remember it was a warm and dry evening. I leaned in closer to see what it was. It was a small toad. Looked just like the one in your picture and in the same position, all tucked under. I thought it looked out of place so I took out my phone and snapped a picture. I’ve since lost it. But the toad, when hit with the flash of the camera was a bright green. It was totally unexpected.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

